Visa Policy of Iran

Iran’s visa is divided to a number of categories, that is, tourist visa, long-term visa, entry (business) visa, upon arrival (airport visa), and multiple entry visa. Those individuals who wish to travel to Iran for tourist purposes are required to get a tourist visa. Its credit holds for three months right at the moment of being issued and, in case of not having been used it in that duration, the applicant is required to re-apply for a visa.

There are two ways of getting Iran’s tourist visa

1- Refer to any of the consulates of IRIB located in the cities of different countries and apply for a tourist visa.

2- At Iran's international airports, you can get your visa. The citizens of a number of countries, except 11 countries, are able to get their tourist visa at these airports.

The 11 countries in question whose citizens cannot apply for a tourist visa are Colombia, Somalia, England, Canada, Iraq, Bangladesh, Jordan, India, and Pakistan. These countries are expected to apply for Iran's visa through Iran's consulate in their own country of origin or any other Iranian consulate, for that matter.

Documents you need to be able to apply for Iran's tourist visa via a pertinent consulate

First, you need to fill in an application form. Keep in mind that it is mandatory to give a reference number of a credible travel agency in order to be able to apply for a tourist visa. Yet, should your purpose for visit be religious and pilgrimage-related, a written formal application would suffice and there will be no need for presenting an invitation note from a credible travel agency. You are also required to present two 3*5 biometric full-faced photos of yourself, without wearing dark-glassed glasses or hat in them, with your basic ID info written on their back.

Needless to say, having your credible passport with you with at least a 6-month period of credibility and enough blank pages is a requirement for visa-issue. You are also required to pay a fee for your tourist visa to be issued. This fee is declared by the fee index of the pertinent consulate which is assessed according to the departure point (ranging from 50 to 140 €). Presenting the receipt for the travel-fee paid by the applicant is also a requirement for getting tourist visa.

How long does it take to receive Iran's tourist visa?

In case of referring to Iran's consulates, after fully providing the documents required and filling in forms pertinent to visa application, it takes about 7 to 10 workdays for your tourist visa to be issued. If you wish to have your visa issued at one of the Iran's international airports, it will be issued in the shortest possible time and with no postponement.

How long can you stay in Iran with your tourist visa?

Your tourist visa will be expired in 30 days from the date of its issue. After this period, you can extend your visa for an extra 60 days by referring to any of the representatives of Iran's Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Nevertheless, keep in mind that the stay period for the citizens of those countries who can visit Iran without a visa is different.


The citizens of seven countries can travel to Iran without visa only by having a credible passport with themselves, only on condition that they be not in the list of entry-denied individuals. These include the citizens of Syria, Turkey, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Bolivia, and Egypt. Their stay in Iran, however, is conditioned in time and is not indefinite. Should those citizens require an extension, they can refer to Iran's Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Syrian, Georgian, Bolivian, Azerbaijani, Egyptian, Lebanese citizens can stay in Iran without visa for 90, 45, 30, 20, 15 and 15 days, respectively.

How can an under-18 get a visa?

Foreign citizens under 18 years of age who intend to travel to Iran are required to present their father or legal guardian's letter of consent (whether it be for an upon arrival visa or the one issued by Iran's consulates). This letter is required to have been officially approved by pertinent local institutions of authority.

Who is banned from travelling to Iran?

Israeli citizens are not allowed to travel to Iran.

Tourist visa for Qeshm, Kish, Chabahar, and other free zones in Iran

Qeshm and Kish are two islands located in the south of Iran and Chabahar is a portal city in its southeast. The rules and regulations for travelling to these areas is somewhat different from that of the rest of the country. The foreign citizens who hold a credible passport can receive a 14-day long visa at the time of arrival at the airport or port of these areas and, in case that they come to the decision to visit the rest of the country, after their visit to these areas, they are required to refer to one of the representative offices of Iran's Ministry of Foreign Affairs and apply for a new visa. This rule is applied to all of Iran's free zones (including Aras, Makou, Anzali etc.)

Pages you might be interested in: Iran travel costs | Emergency phone numbers in Iran